My Rock

I remember the moment you asked me to marry you. The moment you slide the ring onto my finger and asked me to spend the rest of our lives together. It was never a question, from the moment we met that we would be together forever. Everyday I look at my hand and I am reminded about the chance you took on me. The chances you continue to take for us. I am so lucky to have you, especially during this time in my life. A time I thought would be so different for us. I thought by now we would be getting ready to start kindergarten, and we would be planning our family vacations to the lake, camping, overnights to grandma and grandpas. I thought I would have settled into a career that was rewarding and fulfilling. But that fact that I am not where I thought I would be, that I am not taking it well, and that you are still standing with me, supporting me, loving me, holding me up and smiling at me still, reaffirms everything I have always felt and said about you. You are an amazing man, a true friend and confidant; you are steady and level and passionate and smart, driven and wise. I am so lucky to have you, and we are lucky to have each other. Thank you for spending the last 11 years on this road with me, I know it’s been rocky sometimes, but I think some of the fun has been in the climb. Here’s to hoping the next 11 years are better than the best we’ve had.

Leave a Reply

