My Parents = Awesome

I have been truly lucky to have wonderful parents. My parents divorced when I was 7. Both have since remarried and I love my Step-parents as well. I have always been surrounded by support, from my parents to my extensive grandparents, aunts & uncles and family friends. My parents shared joint custody so I saw my both of my parents pretty much daily, the exception being the weekends. I don’t think I ever felt that I didn’t have a Mom and a Dad.

I was recently reminding by watching a tough family situation how truly wonderful my Mom, Dad, Stepdad and Stepmom really are. It was with much effort and sacrifice that I became the person I am today. While I do have some flaws, I am working on them, not only did I survive adolescence in tact, but I have a good relationship with all of my parents. I rely on them still, to help me stay the course, but the best thing is at this age I get to have fun with them.  I get to have long conversations, debate with them, challenge them and they get to do the same with me. I am at peace when I am with them.

I was protected and taught, loved and disciplined; I was given choices, options and support. I can’t say that word enough. I was a challenge growing up, my little sister was the studious one, and I just wanted to be social. I didn’t walk the path they wanted for me, but they supported me when I made that choice too.

I am really very blessed, lucky and overwhelmed by my wonderfully, amazing and awesome parental units. Thanks for always being there for me, and thank you for continuing to be my beacons of light when I am lost in the dark.

One comment

Leave a Reply

