Slow down

Yesterday I started to write a piece talking about what we take for granted as children. How I remember stomping my feet and begging to learn things on my own and ignoring the amazing advice my parents tried to impart on me. It wasn’t until my early to mid 20’s that I realized that I had chosen the harder path and if I would have been more open to advice at a younger age I may have had a little easier time.

Having spent the last 4 years dealing with a lot of unexpected deaths in my family, major drama and over course my own mental health issues it wasn’t a surprise to me that I wanted to reach out and shout from the roof tops to those generations behind me. SLOW DOWN, YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU ARE IN FOR.

I have regrets, things I could have easily fixed if I had slowed down and remembered to call my Grandparents, gone to visit my Uncle in his decline, called my Dad or Mom or Sisters to see if I could offer a shoulder, a hand or a laugh. I can’t get those times back, and I have a small group of family members who seem to think we are replaceable. You can’t replace us. We are your roots, we have held you up and helped you up. This message isn’t just for the young I suppose, its for anyone who feels alone. You didn’t start out alone, you have had someone along the way support you. Maybe no financially, or physically, but maybe emotionally?

Anyways, today as I retype this post (as I impatiently deleted it yesterday) I just want to remind you all that you aren’t alone, there is a community out there that would help you. You just have to be brave enough to ask for it, or maybe you are in that community and someone needs your help, all you have to do is offer it. You will be amazed at where you end up.

Leave a Reply

