Cardinal

Today they buried my Grandmothers ashes. I couldn’t be there. So at 11am I walked outside and sat on the loading dock at work. The wind blew, and I teared up think of part of my family standing around the plot while a friend read a prayer. I looked up at the gray sky, and the tops of the trees as they whipped and whirled, and sitting on a branch was a bright red cardinal. It sat for a moment and then flew away. Cardinals were my Grandma’s favorite bird. I think she was telling me it was okay that I missed it and that she heard my whispered I love you.

One comment

Leave a Reply

